IODA Asian OPTIMIST Championship 2012

We are pleased to inform you that the Yachting Association of Sri Lanka has successfully bid for the INTERNATIONAL OPTIMIST DINGHY ASSOCIATION ASIAN CHAMIONSHIPS (IODA), 2012. The Optimist is the most popular youth class (15 years and under) sailing dinghy, of which some 200,000 have been manufactured to date & sailed.

The 2012 Asian Championships will be held in Trincomalee from 2nd - 10th June, sailing off the beach in the vicinity of the Chaaya Blu Hotel.

Optimists are designed for kids. They can handle them without danger, fear or back-strain. It is quite simply, the boat in which the young people of the world learn to sail. It is also the fastest growing single handed boat.

As you are aware, a total of 50 boats competed in the 2005 Enterprise Worlds & another 48 boats in 2010 GP-14 Worlds Regatta hosted by the Yachting Association of Sri Lanka, which were very successful completed events.

It is expected that the IODA Asian 2012 Sri Lanka event will attract close to 120 boats, from all the Asian countries, Oceania & Middle East. We expect at least fourteen entries from Sri Lanka and each of the other participating countries will be eligible to enter a maximum of seven entries.

We have established a web page for the Sri Lanka event, which can be viewed at

We sincerely hope you consider taking part in the 2012 IODA Asian Championships in Sri Lanka from 2nd - 10th June.




Hon. Mahindananda Aluthgamage Minister of Sports
Vice Admiral Somathilaka Dissanayake Commander of the Sri Lanka Navy
Mr. Hemasiri Fernando President, National Olympic Committee of Sri Lanka


Mr. Joseph Kenny  


Mr. Asanka Goonawardene  


Mr. Lalin Jirasinha  
Mr. Chandima Gunawardene  
Mr. Sarath Kuragama  


Mr. Joseph Kenny  


Mrs. Praneeta Goonawardene  


Mr. Lalin Jirasinha Chairman – Race Management Committee
Mr. Chandima Gunawardene Chairman – Finance, IT, Insurance & Results Committee
Mr. Asanka Goonawardene Chairman – Sponsorship Committee
Mr. Joseph Kenny Chairman - Arrival, Departure, Transport & Accommodation Committee
Rear Admiral Damayantha Dharmasiriwardene Chairman - Opening & Closing Ceremonies Committee
Mr. Lalin Jirasinha Chairman – Race Management Committee
Mr. Jeremy Bolling Chairman - Social Entertainment & Tour Organizing Committee
Mr. Hans Svendsen Chairman – Media, Publicity & Coordinate with the Ministry
Mr. Steve Giffin Chairman – Logistics Committee
Mr. Duncan Fraser Chairman - Beach Operation & Briefings Committee
Capt. Senaka Senaviratne Chairman – Rescue, Beach Operations, Launching & retrieving Committee
Mr. Sarath Kuragama Director – Operations

Race Management Committee

Chairman Mr. Lalin Jirasinha
Secretary Mr. Asita Tennekoon
Members Capt. Per Svendsen

Finance, IT, Insurance & Results Committee

Chairman Mr. Chandima Gunawardene
Secretary Mr. Anil Gunawardene
Members Mr.Jeramy Bolling

Sponsorship Committee

Chairman Mr. Asanka Goonawardene
Secretary Mr. Greig Young
Members Mr. Joseph Kenny

Arrival, Departure, Transport, Accommodation & Liaison Committee

Chairman Mr. Joseph Kenny
Secretary Mr. Thomus Munk
Members Mrs. Karen Jayaratne
Mrs. Thamara Herath
Mr. Jeyaretnam
Mrs. Swarna
Ms. Jayathree

Opening & Closing Ceremonies Committee

Chairman Rear Admiral Damayantha Dharmasiriwardene
Secretary Mrs. Preneetha Goonawardene
Members Mrs.Devika Jirasinha

Social Entertainment & Tour Organizing Committee

Chairman Mr. Jeramy Bolling
Secretary Mrs. Gail Fraser
Members Mrs. Shanaz Gunawardene
Mrs. Selvana Karpinski
Mrs. Wenkeh Svendsen

Media, Publicity & Coordinate with the Ministry

Chairman Mr. Hans Svendsen
Secretary Mr.Thusal Gunawardene
Members Mr. Buddhika Iddamalgoda

Logistics Committee

Chairman Mr. Stephen Giffin
Secretary Mr. Dilan De Mel

Beach Operation & Briefings Committee

Chairman Mr. Duncan Fraser
Secretary Com. Nissanka Janaka
Members Mr. Kapila Kumara

Rescue, Beach Operations, Shore Facilities, Launching & retrieving Committee

Chairman Capt. Senaka Senaviratne
Secretary Com Nissanka Janaka

Director – Operations

Mr. Sarath Kuragama